Making My First PR to an Open Source Project with the first-contributions Repository

Making My First PR to an Open Source Project with the first-contributions Repository

Start you Open Source Journey With a Simple PR

Introduction

I've always been interested in contributing to open-source projects, but I had never really contributed to any projects before. I decided to finally take the plunge and make my first PR last year into an open-source project using the first-contributions repository.

Even with professional working experience, I found myself facing confusion about where to begin in the open-source world. It's common to feel overwhelmed by the multitude of options and large code bases. However, it's essential to remember that starting small and gradually building your knowledge and confidence is the key to success. It will help you to understand how to make a commit, raise a PR and be familiar with Git and Github.

Exploring the first-contributions repository:

The first-contributions repository serves as an invaluable resource for beginners venturing into the world of open source. It offers a collection of beginner-friendly issues, accompanied by comprehensive instructions on forking the repository, creating a new branch, implementing changes, and submitting a PR.

Explore the GitHub link to the project:
https://github.com/firstcontributions/first-contributions

My PR experience:

Following the detailed instructions in the first-contributions repository, I successfully submitted my PR within minutes. The thrill of having my contribution accepted by the project maintainers was truly gratifying.

Tips for aspiring contributors:

For fellow beginners eager to make their first open-source PR, I highly recommend leveraging the first-contributions repository. It serves as an excellent starting point for mastering Git and GitHub basics. Additionally, consider the following tips:

  1. Select a project aligned with your interests and boasting a friendly community.

  2. Begin by tackling simple issues to build confidence.

  3. Thoroughly read the project's documentation and follow instructions meticulously.

  4. Don't hesitate to seek help from the community when encountering roadblocks.

Additionally, it is crucial to actively engage with developer communities. I have found immense value in being involved with the RebaseByRecro community—a platform dedicated to helping individuals become better versions of themselves. Within this community, developers and aspiring developers have access to invaluable opportunities such as learning and mentorship programs, networking events, and avenues for career growth. Embracing such communities can significantly enhance your journey as a developer and open doors to exciting prospects. To explore the RebaseByRecro community further, visit their website at :

recro.io/community/rebase-by-recro.

Conclusion:

Making my PR into an open-source project proved to be an enriching experience. The acceptance of my contribution filled me with a sense of accomplishment. I encourage all beginners to embark on their open-source journey and experience the joys of contributing.

Thanks for Reading! 🙌
See you in the next blog! Until then, keep learning and sharing.

Let’s connect: